Skip to Main Page

doctoral mentoring

We are always recruiting graduate students interested in conducting fundamental and translational research in the iGEM laboratories. Students must be interested in pursuing doctoral research at the interface of one or more of the following areas: genomics, evolution, analytics, biodiversity, epidemiology, and medicine. Students will have the opportunity to engage in discovering biological patterns and elucidating processes that govern and generate these patterns. Depending on their interest, we encourage all students to make predictions based on evolutionary knowledge learned and develop translational products (including software, databases, and general techniques) to accelerate our understanding of biological phenomenon and to apply our knowledge to improving the human condition.

Interested students are advised to directly contact the iGEM faculty of interest. Please send your detailed curriculum vitae and a statement of research interest in a PDF file to the desired faculty member. Remember to include information on your computational and/or laboratory proficiency in your resume.

Ultimately, all doctoral students will be required to apply to a graduate program in the Department of Biology or the Department of Computer and Information Sciences. In special cases, iGEM laboratories will also house doctoral students from other departments. All students are supported by research and teaching assistantships. Students with outstanding credentials will be nominated for Presidential Fellowships. We strongly encourage all incoming and first year graduate students to apply for extramural graduate fellowships (e.g., NSF Graduate fellowship). You should contact the appropriate faculty member to develop such fellowship applications.

current doctoral mentees

Craig Stanley

Department of Biology

| View Emailcraig.stanley@temple.edu

Ravi Patel

Department of Biology

| View Emailtuf12855@temple.edu

Qiqing Tao

Department of Biology

| View Emailqiqing.tao@temple.edu

Alyona Orlenko

Department of Biology

| View Emailaorlenko@uwyo.edu

Russel Hermansen

Department of Biology

| View Emailrhermans@uwyo.edu

Ryan Houser

Department of Biology

| View Emailrthouser@temple.edu

Caryn Babaian

Department of Biology

| View Emailcaryn.babaian@temple.edu